Thursday, 21 August 2014

Getting Rid of Dark Circles? - Strivection Dark Circle Corrector

Eye-bags and dark circles don't make eye shopping easy, do they? Buying a cream to moisturise the area usually does just that, moisturise. Then what happens to the dark circles and anti-ageing? I'm 110% sure that I hate shopping for new eye creams, it's too difficult to decide what I want, and to find the perfect one without spending a near fortune. So I usually source an article online about eye-creams and see which one gets the best reviews, it's not scientific, but it sure does work for a lazy soul like me. This time, I found Strivectin coming out on top... 

Strivectin Get Even Dark Circle Corrector Review

This is a brand I know very little of, I've never tried anything by them before, and I honestly had no clue where even stocks their products. A little scouring on the net had me finding the Get Even Dark Circle Corrector on a site called "Salon Skincare" and with them having it discounted, I stuck this little pot in my basket quicker than I knew humanly possible.

Strivectin Get Even Dark Circle Corrector Review

Strivectin Get Even Dark Circle Corrector Review

Strivectin Get Even Dark Circle Corrector Review

It is the NIA-114 chemical which apparently does the brightening. And I definitely will not be getting all scientific on you, as I simply have no idea what I'm talking about. But I've had this since about March now, and have been using it twice daily to some results. I feel like my overall eye area has definitely been brightened, but not as much as I'd like it to be, and much unlike other eye creams I've used as a treatment, this one does have moisturising properties, so still keeps the delicate skin around the eye area looking soft and supple.

The texture of the cream is very silky and lightweight, meaning its the ideal cream for me. In the past I've used thicker creams, and they tend to feel tacky on my skin, at what point they usually get thrown away, as I hate my skin feeling sticky. This is perfect for day use, given it's so light, this doesn't make concealer sit funny around the eye area, is meshes with the skin as if you haven't just doused your eye area in dark-circle cream. A little goes a long way, and I'm only just about to run this down after using continuously for nearly 5 months.

Strivectin Get Even Dark Circle Corrector Review

I'm still unsure as to whether this will be a repurchase for me immediately, the results from using this weren't spectacular, but the texture was. I'm sure I'll decide to try something new then regret it and return to a brand new tub of this. I guess we'll see...

What are your favourite eye creams? New recommendations for these are ALWAYS welcome.

SHARE:

Tuesday, 19 August 2014

Glowing Skin - Eucerin Even Brighter Range

It's very much starting to feel like I talk a lot about glowing skin and how to achieve a beautiful complexion recently. So who am I to mess with my current streak? Here's my current moisturiser duo that's helping me on my way to perfect skin, minus the make-up... 

Eucerin Even Brighter Moisturiser and Giveaway
Honestly, I'd never tried Eucerin before these products. I knew very little of them as a brand and stuck to brands like Kiehl's and Bioderma cause I was too damn lazy to branch out. So I decided to suck it up and try something new a few months ago, and since then, I haven't looked back. The Even Brighter range is designed to even skintone and reduce any hyperpigmentation in the skin. 

The moisturisers themselves, are as you can see, very thick. Despite this they apply like a dream and don't sit heavily on the skin, and they're usually quickly absorbed, leaving behind a natural looking sheen to the skin. The day cream especially, has immediate effect, hydrating and plumping the skin to look perfectly dewy, and almost good enough to get away with zero foundation. When used together these are a force to be reckoned with. These will keep skin moisturised and the skin-tone even, whilst the day cream works extra hard, having an SPF of 30, this is the ideal moisturiser for sun protection and preparing skin for make-up.

Eucerin Even Brighter Moisturiser and Giveaway

Much unlike the moisturisers, the little pigmentation stick is nothing short of a huge disappointment and a pain in the a*s. It's doe foot applicator means you can apply precisely to darker areas, but it also means it makes your skincare routine take much longer, and smells completely gross. It ran out after about a month of day and night use, and had done nothing to my skin despite reportedly being a stronger concentration than the moisturisers. Huh? Not for me, Eucerin.

Eucerin Even Brighter Pigmentation and Giveaway

SHARE:

Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Catch-up.

Hola everyone! How's it going? I'm currently in the middle of  one big mess, as I've started decorating my bedroom. You don't realise how much hard work it is until you start and have no furniture left, do you?

Anyway, before I trail off onto a completely different topic, I just wanted to share something with you guys. I've been spending some time writing for the amazing Stephanie new site, The Beauty Corner. It's so amazing, with beautiful photography, reviews, routines and so many products to drool over. So on occasion, you can find me over there.

Here's a sneak of the first two posts I've done. (And links to both)

Benefit Benetint and Benebalm Review
I've now got the Benefit BeneBalm, because of course, being infatuated with the Benetint just isn't enough for us beauty addicts.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Fluid Review
And the Chanel Les Beiges Tinted Moisturiser I haven't stopped raving about? Here's a full review

I'll probably be keeping you updated here with links to some of The Beauty Corner's articles. But if you scroll to the bottom of their page, you'll find all the relevant links to keep updated on all of our beauty goings on! Also, look out for my upcoming guest post on Crownbrush UK's blog... 

Lots of love.
SHARE:

Wednesday, 23 July 2014

Current Summer Favourites

I'm not sure what it is, but I'm totally repping shiny skin right now. I don't know how it happened but my nose is occasionally glossier than a mirror. Unrelated to this post, but there you have it. I'm shiny.

I've been obsessed with these products lately. Naturally I had to share them...





The always lovely Dave Lackie surprised me with this little wonder a couple weeks ago, all the way from Canada. This Chanel parfum is utterly beautiful, so feminine and something which really reminds you of the classic floral fragrances. Despite feeling a tad wary of whether or not I want to use it (just so this bottle never ends) I'm finding myself reaching for this more and more. Sorry, Jo Malone, you've got competition.

When something gains the Lisa Eldridge deal of approval you know it's a good 'un. This Works' Perfect Look Skin Miracle is no exception, with a very sheer and buildable texture, this tinted (dubbed moisturiser, I think it's a lot more like a primer!) cream perfects and brightens skin tone within seconds. It takes a lot for some people to fore-go the foundation, and this product is the one that helps you do so. This is the most incredible product, has zero faults and I recommend you buy it, now. (Sorry!) On the topic of beautiful skin, RMS Living Luminizer also helps the This Works product to perform miracles. It's an all-natural coconut oil based luminizer, with zero shimmer, just a beautiful dewy, glossy skinned finish. Completely incredible.

Dior Addict Lipstick in 571 Exotique was a limited edition from about a year ago, and given I managed to get the last one in the store, it was destiny (or so I tell everybody to warrant the purchase). This is the best lipstick for versatility, its sheer formula means you can have a light, rosy glow to your lips, or a full on hot pink pout. Charlotte Tilbury's Five Star Lashes meanwhile, gives you the most fluttery natural lashes, with added length volume and curl. Despite the fact it's somewhat of a pain to get hold of, it's completely worth it, and I'm also infatuated by the Wonderglow primer, but we'll leave that for another day...



For good reason, Homeoplasmine is one of those things I refuse to stop talking about. I dedicated a full post to this beauty, here. Sticking to the French theme, I've found myself reaching for Klorane's natural dry shampoo more than normal. I'm trying to introduce my hair to co-washing, and well, it's currently turning to the grease-side. Yuck! Klorane's dry shampoo is amazing for getting rid of minimal grease at the roots, has very little scent, and is so much kinder than the likes of Batiste.

As some of you may know if you follow me on Twitter I will be turning 20 tomorrow! I'm completely in denial that I'm no longer a teenager, so I will be henceforth calling myself "twen-teen." Of course the benefits of a birthday are that I'll be getting presents, and naturally, I've been treating myself more than normal, so expect a haul in the next few days.

See y'all when I'm filled with champagne!

SHARE:

Monday, 21 July 2014

Lets Be Frank

The social media presence of this pouch of body scrub is enormous, with the brilliant people behind the pages writing everything in first person as if Frank body scrub is, well, just that... A person. With the large amount of the Internet now raving about this little, somewhat dirty guy, I thought it'd only be fair to share my thoughts of the guy that's now showered with women all over the world.  

Frank body scrub coffee review


With an all natural ingredients list, including coffee, almond oil, coconut oil and grapeseed oil, this body scrub promises to help reduce the appearance of cellulite, stretch marks and skin conditions like psoriasis, eczema and acne. The premise of this scrub is quite the new one to me, which involves jumping in the shower to dampen the skin, then using the scrub in circular motions, and then getting out of the shower (I'm not going crazy) to let the scrub dry and let the caffeine get to work on evening skintone and helping any problem areas.



Honestly, I've not had any spectacular results from using Frank, and I still have pesky stretch marks on my inner thigh that refuse to budge. I have found that my skin has been really smooth, a couple scars on my legs and foot have slightly faded, but nothing compared to the results of some people. Maybe I was just expecting too much? I go through a lot of body scrubs too, to remove any old fake tan marks and to prep my skin for a new layer, but Frank just doesn't cut it for this purpose, I find it doesn't remove enough, and leaves me occasionally patchy. (My attractive level is exceptionally high right now, honest.) 

The smell of the original Frank (there's coconut and cacao variants at the moment) is heavenly, like the most amazing freshly-brewed coffee, and truly does make you lust after a trip to Starbucks.



I do find this quite fun to use however, and probably would repurchase when I run out, as I kind of enjoy the ten minutes spent drying off in a room smelling like coffee - is that weird?! But just a quick FYI, do take some music into the bathroom with you, and possibly a book. Also, be prepared for mess, EVERYWHERE.

And for those worrying that you still have to get Frank body scrubs shipped from Australia, worry no more... Frank is now available in the UK and with free shipping! You can find all three variants, here.

SHARE:

Friday, 18 July 2014

Another French Pharmacy Cult Product - Homeoplasmine Review

With every Escentual 1/3 off French pharmacy promotion you can almost see bank accounts across the country just straining with how much we seem to end up buying, yet not necessarily needing. This time I swore I didn't need anything, but when my family insisted I order them some Bioderma, it would have been wrong to not bump my order price up to meet the standards for free delivery price, right?

French Pharmacy Homeoplasmine review uses
So with a basket filled with micellar water in excess and a bottle of Klorane dry shampoo, I got excessively excited to see that Escentual are now stocking Homeoplasmine. As far as I know, this is the first time Homeoplasmine has been available in this country (don't hold me to it) so after hearing so much about this cult product I just had to see what all the fuss was about.

According to Escentual's site, Homeoplasmine is a homeopathic blend of plant extracts and active ingredients to help minor irritations like cuts, grazes and abrasions and to smooth and intensely hydrate the skin. As of now, I've used Homeoplasmine mostly as a lip balm, and have found it to help speed up the healing process of any small cuts. When used on my lips, I can happily say  it is the best lip balm I've ever used, with no over-exaggeration, this keeps my lips hydrated for a while, without feeling too heavy or sticky on my lips. Using this overnight gets rid of any chapped areas on your lips, doesn't rub off onto your pillow, and keeps your lips from getting dry whilst you sleep. 
French Pharmacy Homeoplasmine Review

As you can see in the above picture, that little blob of clear jelly does boast a similar thickness and consistency to the other cult/multi-purpose moisturiser, Eight Hour Cream. This one however, is clear in colour, slightly thicker and a tad less glossy than the EH offering, not to mention the fact that Homeoplasmine (HALLELUJAH) doesn't have a scent. Despite Elizabeth Arden's claims of an un-fragranced version of EH cream, there's still an unpleasant lingering scent which is off-putting when using as a lip balm.

Honestly? This product is amazing despite the fact it's packaging makes it look like nappy rash cream. So if you can manage to ignore your superficial need for Chanel packaging, I can guarantee you won't be disappointed.

Hope you guys are having a good week! What are you getting up to? I'm still in denial that I'm going to no longer be a teenager after next week, so you can find me on the swings, while it's still *ahem* acceptable.
SHARE:

Wednesday, 11 June 2014

Spotlight On: Clinique Chubby Stick in Mighty Mimosa

You know those times when you're just completely stuck for things to blog about? And you feel like you have had an epiphany when you pull something out your handbag and realise you've never written about it before? Yeah, one of those. Hurrah! (I'm so over dramatic)

Clinique Chubby Stick in Mighty Mimosa is one of those products I bought on a whim, with arms filled with shopping and a hefty sum in Debenhams points on my Beauty Card. Wanting to know the best lip product for accompanying a barely-there look, I came across this, and being completely apprehensive about tinted balms I carried on shuffling around the store and covering my hands in numerous shades of muted pink.

Upon first application I knew I'd fallen in love with this rosy pink shade, with a slight sheen, which ends up looking like healthy lips with a slight slick of lip balm. The major selling point for me with this was that I didn't need a mirror to apply (someone reassure me that I'm not the only one that finds strangers stare at you applying lipstick in public?). It's the little things... but this is completely fault proof, and easy enough to use in a rush, whilst on a bus, in the dark, you name it!

Much unlike other coloured balms, Clinique's Chubby Stick does actually hydrate and treat your lips, whilst leaving a beautiful tint which lasts a good few hours before it wears down. With it being so sheer and long-wearing, this balm is the most low maintenance lip product I've ever used, and much unlike some lipsticks, you are never paranoid that your lip colour is worn away and similar to that of Heath Ledger's Joker.

So if you're in the market for a new lip product (or just a treat) get this, it won't disappoint.

SHARE:

Monday, 9 June 2014

Regular Nail Polish/Gel Finish

Having a slight fear of the idea of gel nails, I never have particularly paid attention to the brands that provide them. Two weeks of wearing a nail polish that's going to grow out, look unsightly, and then damage your nails during removal? No, thank you. But when the lovely Megan got in touch about Bio Sculpture I was somewhat intrigued to learn the company now makes nail polishes to match the gel nails they offer, minus the UV lamp and the need to be soaked off. Offering the chance to either patch up your current Bio Sculpture gels, or change the colour completely temporarily (only when removed with acetone free remover).


Being somewhat addicted to nail painting, longevity isn't normally something I take into consideration. Usually I'll be bored within 24 hours and change. A grey nude to a more pink-toned nude? ...How I rolllll. So it was quite the change for me experimenting how long I could make these last. To be honest, I got a couple days, with very minor chipping, at which point I was itching to change my nail polish. Slightly more than I would normally, so I'm quite impressed, but the selling point for me with these polishes was the finish. Its not thick looking like a regular gel colour, but instead has a show-stopping sheen, which makes your nails look freshly painted for days.

The brush is designed in a similar way to the likings of Dior and Essie brushes, with a fan-type soft bristle brush that somehow mimicks the shape of your nail and allows you to do one coat of colour in a single swoop.




The three shades I was sent are the kind that I'd choose for myself. The nude/grey being the show-stopper of the three, coming up slightly lilac in some lights. The other pink tone is exactly like the sheer pinks I regularly obsess over, (and clumsily forgot to take pictures of) but the neon pink was a complete break out of my comfort zone, a really beautiful colour for those that like bright nails.

Overall, I'm really impressed with these polishes. The colours are completely beautiful, have a brilliant finish and are something I'd definitely consider buying more of. Turns out breaking out of my Chanel and Essie comfort zone does benefit me sometimes...

SHARE:

Thursday, 3 April 2014

Anastasia Tinted Brow Gel (Granite) - A Review from the Fussy Brows

It's no secret that brows are completely important to me, and given I've been blessed with a well shaped, full pair, but as blonde as my hair, they tend to be high-maintenance on the products needed to keep them a nice shade of brunette. And before someone questions my choice of brow colour, bare with me... I have got blonde-ish hair naturally, and yes, my hair is a warm blonde now, but I don't suit warm brows (like, AT ALL) so I tend to go for an ashy brown... 

So yeah, having shared an overly long story about my brows with you... Here's what I intended on talking about... 

Anastasia Tinted Brow Gel in Granite Review
Anastasia Beverley Hills, the cult brand, founded by Anastasia Soare, the genius behind many A-List celebrities brows, is easily working it's way into the mainstream beauty industry. With all her products being designed to be affordable and easy to use, its understandable that Anastasia is quickly becoming many people's go-to for brow products.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Tinted Brow Gel Review in Granite

I have a love/hate relationship with brow gel. The kind that leave you with crispy slugs on your face aren't my cup of tea, yet the ones that seem quite soft, then start to crumble into little lumps on your brows (attractive!) aren't much better. I really do like MAC Beguile, but it is SO pigmented there is no easy way of applying it, you really need to dedicate some time to getting it perfect. So I caved, thought I'd try Anastasia's Tinted Brow Gel in Granite. With this being the shade leaning most towards grey, I thought it'd be perfect for my fussy brows.
When it arrived I felt utter confusion at the shimmer particles I could see in the tube... Like, hang on, if I wanted Dior brows, I'd have used a gold eyeshadow?! So, needless to say, I waited until I had zero plans to trial this... (Don't worry, it doesn't translate. Phew!)

I was totally blown away by how perfect the shade is, and how easy it is to apply. The slightly curved wand allows you to precisely apply the product where you want it, and the levels of pigment weren't ridiculous, meaning you can use it quickly, on its own, or over brows already filled in with powder. The "crispy" levels weren't too high, but I'm beginning to think that if a brow gel is to leave the hairs feeling natural, then how much hold can it really have?! I'd say I've probably got the perfect compromise right here.

Anastasia Tinted Brow Gel review in Granite


All in all, this is by far the best I've tried. Probably would get a 9 out of 10. Nothing's perfect...

I got mine from Cult Beauty, for £16.50.
SHARE:

Thursday, 27 March 2014

Bassbuds X Roxanne Campbell - Music meets Manicures

Twitter is pretty darn good for finding out all of what is going on everywhere, isn't it? I used to always wonder what the attraction was to "just another social media" site, but I literally feel like I'm getting enough news (and gossip, shush!) to last me a lifetime over there. Aaaanyway... BassBuds, the company that creates those gorgeous looking, Swarovski-adorned headphones you've probably seen strewn over the internet and magazines shared that they had a new collection coming out and wanted to share with beauty bloggers. So I jumped up and down shouting me, me, me (using the appropriate emoji) and they sent me over the deets of their latest collection...

Now comes the bit where I was intrigued, the collection is actually a collaboration between themselves and Roxanne Campbell, the incredible manicurist, who's nail artistry for SS14 has been inspired by this Fashion collection of headphones by Bassbuds. Nails and music aren't something that usually comes together, but when you think about it, it's is SO clever, and amazing for someone that is completely passionate about the two. (cough, me.) The lovely PR lady, Laura, told me they would sent me some to trial out, and hoped I could do a nail-art look to go along with the new collection. So I got a tad giddy with my Chanel, and hoped in the time it took to set up my camera and tripod, that I wouldn't chip or smudge...




(I did the nail art by painting one coat of the deep pink, Tapage, all over my nail, and placing hole reinforcers on my nail, after 20 minutes drying time, to cover up the area I wanted to remain in that colour. After two coats of the pale pink, May, I slowly pulled away the stickers and sealed with a coat of Seche Vite top coat.)

Each BassBud has a genuine Swarovski crystal on each sound chamber, making them the sparkliest and most fashionable headphones you probably ever did see. Sorry, Apple... you simply don't cut it anymore. An anti-tangle cable (PRAISE THE LORD!) and a call/mp3 control button. 

I was sent the "Harmony" pair, which have a pink wire, red details and mint green buds. I have my eye on the "Eclectic" pair which are the most beautiful lilac shade and canary yellow. -Seriously, can you imagine the gorgeous nail art that could be teamed with those? (I'd have to get lilac and yellow polish first though, dope!)

The headphones themselves are amazing, and easily the best I have ever used. The sound quality is amazing for in-ear headphones, and the memory foam buds make them much more comfortable than some of the others that can be painful to use. The design, meanwhile, just makes anyone with the slightest magpie tendencies completely weak at the knees, and they make a pleasant change to my usual white (now much muddier in appearance) Apple pair.

I can now take extra enjoyment in my Spotify and nail-painting sessions...

SHARE:

Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Magnitone Pulsar - A Revolution in Facial Cleansing

When the girl we all rely on for beauty news, Jane from British Beauty Blogger, said she was offering the chance for 10 bloggers to review a Magnitone I practically pounced onto my laptop to send her an email declaring "I WANNA, I WANNA!" So I was ecstatic when Magnitone emailed me themselves saying I had been chosen to review... Here's my findings...


The Magnitone Pulsar is a electronic cleansing brush, which is proven to reduce signs of ageing, improve skin quality and reduce the appearance of pores. It can be used on your face and body provided you use the different brush attachments provided in the box, which just slide in and out of the handheld system with ease. (The sensitive heads came separately) The box also includes tons of instruction manuals, making it easy to get used to, and it also comes with a stand and charger system.






With Magnitone claiming that you will see a difference in your skin within 7 days, I thought I would keep notes every day during my first week of usage, and do a break-down of my results:

Day 1- Morning felt like a brilliant exfoliation, skin texture was smooth, and skin looked luminous, however on the second use that day it felt a little harsher on the skin, but I guess my skin was just getting used to it. All skincare products used afterwards seem to be absorbing much better than normal, hence getting more moisture into my skin.
Day 2- The harsh feeling had left completely, and the skin around my nose looked less red.
Day 3- Elasticity and moisture levels of skin seem to be improved
Day 4- I can visibly notice a difference in the (cough) blackheads on my nose, with the skin looking impeccable on my nose, and dare I say, giving me even better results than my beloved Glamglow Super-mud.
Day 5- Skin tone and texture feels and looks completely even.
Day 6- Noticeable difference in application of makeup now, meaning all my foundations go on smoother, last longer, and my skin looks much brighter even without the use of any brightening products.
Day 7- All in all, skin tone is much more even, skin looks plump and is well hydrated, appearance of pores have decreased, I feel much more confident with my skin, and LOVE the results.

It has four different modes, as seen in the picture above, and each holds a different purpose. The sensitive option is, yes, you guessed it, for sensitive skin. Pulse-lift Massage is the most bizarre sensation of the four, but helps blood circulation in your face, which is the magic which helps reduce signs of ageing. Exfoliation (suggested option for your body) and Deep Clean are quite self-explanatory, too aren't they?



I'm SO impressed with Magnitone's facial cleansing brush, and I've no idea how I lived without it. Can't recommend it enough!

SHARE:

Monday, 30 September 2013

Reading List - Books I've Read and Reviewed

It's no secret by now that I'm quite the book worm, so I thought I'd share with you some of the books I've finished recently, and what I thought of them. So basically, a review, I don't make anything simple, do I?








The Time Keeper - Mitch Albom
This one is actually relatively new in terms of its release date, and I'd had it on pre-order for what felt like a lifetime. When it came I'd just finished reading another book so I got cracking straight away, and to my surprise I loved it THAT much I'd read the whole book in 2 days. It was such a compelling story, combining three different people, and the stories of those with too much time, and those with not enough. Its very suggestive on how much we value time, and how much does it really matter? Without giving away too much, I thoroughly recommend it to all of you, and if you get the chance to read this book - TAKE IT. (However, I do not approve of theft...)

Beautiful Ruins - Jess Walter
I'd seen this one flying around in all sorts of press, including Grazia and Glamour magazine, so I was totally intrigued, only when I saw the beautiful cover art in Waterstones was I drawn to it, but this really was quite a pleasant read. The story isn't told chronologically, but yet, manages to tell the story without going back on itself, its well written, set in a 1960's Italy and present-day Hollywood. I find that some of the Italian parts aren't excessively interesting, but for those that like strong descriptions of the scenes, you'll love it. Described in Grazia as a perfect summer beach read, it is just that, a pleasant easy read, and one I can thoroughly recommend if looking for something light-hearted.

The Notebook - Nicholas Sparks
We've all seen the film, or at least one of Nicholas Sparks' heart-wrenching romantic dramas. I liked the film and thought the book would be similar, but in my opinion was so awfully written it took me a good few weeks to finish this teeny book as I was simply so uninterested by it. Big thumbs down from me, I can't even say anything more than how boring I thought it was.


Breakfast at Tiffany's - Truman Capote
I'm totally madly obsessed with Audrey Hepburn at the moment, and I decided, before I watch the film, I was going to read the book. This wasn't an issue at all given how tiny this book actually is, it's only around 100 pages but I loved reading it, it really isn't different to the film at all, and now I feel very much like I want to read other books by Truman Capote.

The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho
I read this on recommendation of that gorgeous lady Zoe Newlove, and I expected great things from it when she said she'd read it four times! It had big claims to live up to, given it states 65 million copies had been sold on the cover, and quotes from Will Smith and Madonna grace it's back cover. I'll admit, I didn't know what to expect at all, and I found it was such an easy read, and reminded me of books I read as a child. It's a fable about a shepard who crosses the desert to reach his dreams, and the troubles and people he meets along the way. I think it is quite the inspiring book, and does have things you can carry into your everyday lives. I loved this book, and will definitely be keeping to read again, maybe even buying other books by Paulo Coelho.

Hope you've all managed to stick with me through my rambles! Do any of you have any book recommendations you think I may like based on these? And what's your favourite book? I'm all for a new read!
SHARE:

Friday, 13 September 2013

Hair like Silk - Neal and Wolf Super Shine Spray Review

I feel as if I'm constantly apologising to you guys at the moment for my absence of posts, but I do promise, that once my laptop is up and running as normal, I WILL be back to posting on a regular basis, and spamming your feeds with endless wittiness (just kiddin'. Orrrrrrr, am I?) Anyway, tonight's post is a quick one too, my iPad battery is about to run out, and the Winchesters are on my TV.

Gloss, elegance and silk are the three words which come to mind when I think of this product. I had to share it with you, just because I'm falling more and more in love with this brand...

Neal and wolf are a brand which seems to be quickly gaining in popularity, and their prices sit in the mid-range of hair products, coming at around £10 a product (roughly, though... Don't hold me to it!) Their products are easy to buy, given they are pretty much a capsule collection, having just the products you REALLY need, no hair dust or any of that silly stuff.

Like the heat protection spray, which is my holy grail for protection, the shine spray is another holy grail of mine, and in all honesty, does boast some similarities to the heat protection, like the way it feels weightless on the hair, and is dispensed as a fine mist, which covers all your hair lightly and evenly. It also has that incredible scent which the heat spray has, which can only be described as luxurious. Having caramel blonde coloured hair, I do occasionally need an extra bit of help with shine, but a lot of products don't actually do anything (I'm looking at you, Oribe, I feel like I want my £30+ back!) this, does make your locks glossier, without looking unnatural and helps to tame frizz and flyaways. This can be used in numerous ways too, which aren't listed on the bottle, including, spraying it on your hands and using to moisturise the ends, mixing in with shampoo, and even mixing in with curl cream to keep curls defined but glossy.

So my lovely followers, I hope you have a fantastic weekend, I'm home alone so I'm unsure just how lazy I want to be. People keep asking me to go out, or offering to come round to mine, but isn't it just SO much more fun watching cheesy telly, and wearing either silly onesies or nothing at all? (Sorry for that bad picture, maybe it's time to go?...)
SHARE:

Wednesday, 14 August 2013

Hair like Silk - Neal and Wolf Super Shine Spray Review

I feel as if I'm constantly apologising to you guys at the moment for my absence of posts, but I do promise, that once my laptop is up and running as normal, I WILL be back to posting on a regular basis, and spamming your feeds with endless wittiness (just kiddin'. Orrrrrrr, am I?) Anyway, tonight's post is a quick one too, my iPad battery is about to run out, and the Winchesters are on my TV.

Gloss, elegance and silk are the three words which come to mind when I think of this product. I had to share it with you, just because I'm falling more and more in love with this brand...

Neal and wolf are a brand which seems to be quickly gaining in popularity, and their prices sit in the mid-range of hair products, coming at around £10 a product (roughly, though... Don't hold me to it!) Their products are easy to buy, given they are pretty much a capsule collection, having just the products you REALLY need, no hair dust or any of that silly stuff.

Like the heat protection spray, which is my holy grail for protection, the shine spray is another holy grail of mine, and in all honesty, does boast some similarities to the heat protection, like the way it feels weightless on the hair, and is dispensed as a fine mist, which covers all your hair lightly and evenly. It also has that incredible scent which the heat spray has, which can only be described as luxurious. Having caramel blonde coloured hair, I do occasionally need an extra bit of help with shine, but a lot of products don't actually do anything (I'm looking at you, Oribe, I feel like I want my £30+ back!) this, does make your locks glossier, without looking unnatural and helps to tame frizz and flyaways. This can be used in numerous ways too, which aren't listed on the bottle, including, spraying it on your hands and using to moisturise the ends, mixing in with shampoo, and even mixing in with curl cream to keep curls defined but glossy.

So my lovely followers, I hope you have a fantastic weekend, I'm home alone so I'm unsure just how lazy I want to be. People keep asking me to go out, or offering to come round to mine, but isn't it just SO much more fun watching cheesy telly, and wearing either silly onesies or nothing at all? (Sorry for that bad picture, maybe it's time to go?...)
SHARE:

Monday, 5 August 2013

Perfume for your Hair?! - Dior J'Adore Hair Perfume Review

Listed on Escentual's website as a "Hair mist" it's easy to say that this is one of the most peculiar things I've ever owned - a hair perfume! It's easy to say I'm quite the sucker for things that are different, I love owning things no one else has (such a drama queen, aren't I?!) so when I read about this in a magazine, and with me being a self-confessed Dior addict, I knew I had to get my hands on one.

This is a 30ml bottle and is priced at £26.35 (at time of posting) on Escentual here in the UK. So, in my opinion is quite good value for money, given that Dior perfumes are a lot higher on the price scale...


The product itself is cased in a perfume shaped bottle, and comes out in a perfectly fine mist, so your hair doesn't get drenched with product, nor does it distribute unevenly in those dreadful little spits that hair sprays often do. I use about three sprays, for the sides and back of my hair, which tends to last from when applied in a morning, to when I scrape my hair up into my Invisibobble at night-time. But this product isn't only for making your hair smell like heaven, it is enriched with Ylang-Ylang oils, providing shine and nourishment to your locks.

The scent, is the same as the J'Adore perfumes, and is a beautiful floral, and feminine scent, with top notes of Ylang-Ylang, heart notes of Damask Rose, and base notes of Sambac Jasmine.


The packaging of this is completely beautiful, elegant, and looks nothing short of amazing lined up with my Miss Dior, Jo Malone and Diptyque on my dressing table. As with most Dior products, it has the little Christian Dior logo etched into the top of the bottle, a nice little touch don't you think?

On the less glamorous side, I feel like my hair smells amazing after washing anyway, so I wouldn't dream of unnecessarily product, so this does only see use when my hair is already dirty. While I like using quite natural dry shampoos, I find they don't disguise any (cue, upcoming TMI) unpleasant scents, so when the scalp is getting oilier, and the ends drier, this comes in more than handy for freshening up your "I really should have washed it last night" hair...

Overall, I love this product, if it runs out I'll definitely repurchase, as luxurious as it is, it really does perk me up, and make me feel so special when I go out. And much unlike the Velvotan Self Tan for the back applicator I reviewed last week, this is a novelty which works, and I thoroughly recommend to anyone who, like me, feels the urge to squirt their perfume all over their hair, too.
SHARE:
© Lyon Notes. All rights reserved.
Blogger templates by pipdig